CLUBS > Al Wasl

Al Wasl

Dubai – P. O. Box 3888
Email -

The foundation of Al Wasl Club dates back to the year 1960 when a group of young people from Zabeel Area met at the house of Bakhit Salem.  They agreed to form a sports club under the name Al Zamalek, and the launching of the new club was from a room in that house.  Then the club was moved to a house owned by Sheikha Madiya Bint Sultan, and the club’s membership increased with new young members joining the club from Zabeel and Bur Dubai.  In 1972, Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, Ruler of Dubai at the time, made a donation for the establishment of the club in Zabeel Area.  The most prominent founding members were: Sheikh Ahmad bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Sheikh Buti bin Maktoum Al Maktoum, Sheikh Mohammed bin Obaid Al Maktoum, Bakhit Salem, Saif Fares, Ghanem Fares, Suhail Fares, Dawood Khalifa, Ibrahim Khalifa, Mohammed Abdul Karim, Ibrahim Mubarak, Salem Ahmad, Khamis Ahmed Salem, and Abdullah Nasser.

Then the two clubs of Al Shula and Al Orouba were merged with Al Zamalek Club and new members joined:: Ahmad Al Naqeeb, Fareed Abdul Rehman, Rizq Qadoura, Ahmad Al Shaafar, Ahmad Al Banna, and Saadi Al Rayes.

In 1973, the club members agreed to change the club name from Al Zamalek to Al Wasl, which was the old name given to the Emirate of Dubai.  In 1974, the Ministry of Youth and Sports issued a decision to publicize Al Wasl Club.

Since that date, Al Wasl Club plays a prominent role in the Emirates’ sports, particularly football, by supplying national teams with the most important players and by participating in the continental, Arab, and regional competitions and achieving honorable results.

·Name of the club:  Al Wasl Club.

·Founded: 1960

·President of the club: His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

·Chairman of the Board of Directors: H.E. Abdullah Hareb Al Falahi

·Members of the Board of Directors:

- H.E. Hamad bin Lahej (Vice Chairman)

- H.E. Sultan Hareb

- H.E. Jassim Rajab

- H.E. Mohammed Al Ameri

- H.E. Mohammed Hammadi

·Coach: Eid Baroot

·Name of the stadium: Al Wasl Stadium in Zabeel

.Capacity:8411 seats.

·Colors of the team: Yellow.  Second color: White

·The team’s championships and achievements:

-League titles: 1981-1982, 1982-1983, 1984-1985, 1987-1988, 1991-1992, 1996-1997, and 2006-2007.

-President’s Cup titles: 1987 and 2007.

- Al Ittihad Cup Champions: 1995.

-Gulf Clubs Champions: 2010.

-Asian Clubs Championship 1993: Third place and the bronze medal.

The most prominent players in the history of the club:  Fahd Khamis, Mohammed Bollo, Saeed Abdullah, Ahmad Mahboub, Khamis Musbbeh, Ismaeel Mohammed Salem, Zuhair Bakhit, Nasser Khamis, Fahd Abdul Rahman, Hassan Mohammed, Farouq Abdul Rahman, Ismaeel Rashed, Majed Khaled Darwish.


1 Al Wasl 3 2 0 1 7 4 3 6

Directions to the Stadium

View Larger Map