CLUBS > Al Jazira

Al Jazira

Muroor Rd. Next to police Headquarter, Abu Dhabi


Al Jazira Club was founded in 1969 when a group of young people from Abu Dhabi established Al khalidiya Club, which merged in 1974, specifically on the ninth of March, with Al Butain Club which was founded in 1973.  It was agreed to name the new club “Al Jazira”, the two teams were close-by neighbors in the city of Abu Dhabi which helped to speed up the merger. This relationship lasted throughout the 42 years from the date of establishing the club.

Al Jazira team was not as strong as it is now, ranging in positions between staying in the first division tournament in some seasons and relegating to the second division in other seasons; however, the team was able to return strongly in the second half of the nineties of the last decade. The team became the magnet for international players like George Waya from Liberia who won the award of Best Player in the World in 1996 and who played with Al Jazira team for three seasons among other prominent players.

Each season, Al Jazira team includes elite of the best players, Local and foreigners, who have contributed to raising the level of the team to become a strong competitor in all championships.

The most notable achievements of Al Jazira team was its winning of the Gulf Clubs Championship in 2007, as well as the Etisalat Cup in 2009-2010.  Al Jazira were crowned Etisalat Pro League Champions in season 2010-2011 for the first time in the club’s history. The club achieved also the President’s Cup in 2010-2011 and 2011-2012.

Name of the club: Al Jazira.

Honorary President and Chairman of the Honorary Board: His Highness Sheikh  Hamdan bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

Vice Chairman of the Honorary Authority and the Club President: His Highness Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

Chairman of the Board of Directors: Sheikh Mohammed bin Hamdan bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

The most prominent players are:  Ali Khasif, Ibrahima Diaky, Ricardo Oliveira, Delgado, Sbeet Khater, Abdullah Mousa, Khaled Sabil, and Ahmad Jouma. 

Coach: Luis Milla (Spain)

Colors of the team: Full white; reserve color: red.

The club stadium: Mohammed bin Zayed Stadium, the second largest stadiums in the UAE after Zayed Sports City Stadium

Stadium’s capacity: 40,000 spectators.


1 Al Jazira 3 2 0 1 8 6 2 6

Mohammad bin Zayed Stadium

Mohammad bin Zayed Stadium

Directions to the Stadium

View Larger Map